Frank Bird Joins Tech 1 Racing


After a debut season in the Formula Renault Eurocup last year, Cumbrian driver Frank Bird has joined the French-based Tech 1 Racing Team for the 2018 season.

Owned by Simon and Sarah Abadie, the 18-year-old joins the team to improve in what is one of the most-hotly-contested, top-level formulas in the world.

Frank’s career started when he chose to learn the ropes in the Ginetta Junior class before moving to single-seaters in 2016. Despite his limited experience compared to his rivals in the British F4 Championship, Bird showed excellent consistency thanks to his rapid learning skills. He scored three top 10 finishes before his first one-off in Formula Renault Eurocup at Estoril.

In 2017, the Penrith-born driver, who was part of the winning team at the recent 24 Hours of Dubai, did the full season in Formula Renault Eurocup and gained momentum as the year progressed, getting into the top half of the grid in the final round at the Barcelona circuit.

While he didn’t manage to score any points due to a seemingly endless run of bad luck, he stood out by being one of the most aggressive and talented drivers in the races.

Bird joined Tech 1 Racing at the winter tests just before Christmas and the Toulouse-based team quickly unlocked a potential that it will try to exploit and translate into results in 2018.


rank Bird:  “I’m really excited to be joining Tech 1 Racing for this year’s Formula Renault Eurocup Championship. They have a great history in this category and some brilliant drivers have passed through their hands. Hopefully, I can follow in their footsteps and do a good job for the team and my sponsors. Although my first season was very difficult, it gave me an idea of what I need to improve and work on in my second year in the championship. Right from the first test the team and I hit it off straight away and worked well together. In fact, it felt like we’d been working together for years. My aim is to improve in qualifying, which was one of my weaker areas last year. This will put me in a stronger position to aim for a place in the top 10 in the races and score points regularly. I would also like to thank Tech 1 Racing, my sponsors and my parents for giving me this opportunity. I can’t wait for the new season to get underway.”

Simon Abadie, Tech 1 Racing Team Manager: “We’re impatient to begin working with Frank again as despite his lack of experience, he’s got great potential. In our test sessions in Barcelona, everything went off well and he made good progress. We still have to train him and we’re pretty confident we can do that where he’s concerned. Frank’s got good faculties and is very hungry to learn. He has all the qualities it takes to achieve success with our team.”

The 2018 season gets underway at the Paul Ricard circuit in France in April with Frank’s home round taking place at Silverstone on May 20th.

2018 Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Calendar
15 Apr                  Paul Ricard
22 Apr                  Autodromo Nazionale Monza
20 May                 Silverstone
27 May                 Monaco
22 Jul                   Red Bull Ring
28 Jul                   Spa-Francorchamps
2 Sep                   Hungaroring
15 Sep                 Nürburgring
21 Oct                  Circuit de Catalunya

For further information, please visit


Name:              Frank Bird
Born:               20th August 1999 in Carlisle (Great Britain)
Height/Weight:1m 79, 62 kg
2015: Ginetta Junior
2016: British F4 Championship
2017: Formula Renault Eurocup, Formula Renault NEC
2018: 24 Hours of Dubaï – Winner in A2 class


Teams’ Championships
Eurocup Mégane Trophy (2006, 2007 & 2008)
Formula Renault 3.5 Series (2007, 2008, 2010 & 2012)
Formula Renault Eurocup (2010 & 2013)
Formula Renault Alps (2011 & 2012)

Drivers’ Championships
Formula Renault 3.5 Series (Álvaro Parente – 2007)
Eurocup Mégane Trophy (Pedro Petiz – 2007)
Formula Renault Alps (Javier Tarancón – 2011)
Formula Renault Eurocup (Pierre Gasly – 2013)

Runner-up Teams’ Championships
Formula Renault Eurocup (2016)

Runner-up Drivers’ Championships
Eurocup Mégane Trophy (Matthieu Lahaye – 2006, Dimitri Enjalbert – 2007)
Formula Renault 3.5 Series (Julien Jousse – 2008, Daniel Ricciardo – 2010, Jules Bianchi – 2012)
Formule Renault Eurocup (Dorian Boccolacci – 2016)



Comments are closed.