Top Eight For Frank At Monza


Tech 1 Racing Team driver Frank Bird recorded his career-best results in round two of the 2018 Formula Renault Eurocup Championship at Monza in Italy where the Cumbrian-born teenager claimed a superb top eight position in today’s race.

The 18 year old originally from Penrith, in only his second meeting with Simon and Sarah Abadie’s Toulouse-based team in the Be Wiser Insurance, Hager, Loco Energy Drink and Frank Bird Poultry-backed car, was looking to bounce back after a disappointing opening round at Paul Ricard last weekend.

Starting off in midfield during practice and qualifying, Frank started Saturday’s race from 17th on the grid from where he clawed his way through the field to eventually finish in a battling 13th place at the chequered flag.

But better was to come in today’s second race where once again, starting from the middle of the grid, Frank set about closing the cars down in front of him and with some superb driving, he crossed the line in ninth place to claim his best ever result in his second year in the series. Afterwards, however, race Stewards awarded a penalty to a driver in front of him which elevated Frank to eighth position and with it, three valuable championship points.

Frank Bird:  “The weekend started off OK, but I felt I could have perhaps done a bit better during qualifying to give myself a better chance in the races. Race one went fine, and I was getting quicker so to cross the line in 13th was a decent result but I knew I had better pace than that. In race two, everything came together and to get a ninth-place finish in such a strong field was really special but eighth is even better. It’s only three points and we need to kick on from here, so the plan is top tens at least from now on. Thanks to my dad and all our sponsors for their help and I hope we can carry on like this for the rest of the season, especially with my home race at Silverstone next month.”

Paul Bird, Team Owner PBM:  “I knew at the start of the season that Frank had turned a corner with his driving and the fresh approach of the Tech 1 Racing Team has paid dividends with his first points here at Monza. He drove really well all weekend and I’m delighted for both him and the team, we can now push on and hopefully continue the great progress made so far.  I’m very proud of him today.”  

2018 Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Calendar
15 Apr                  Paul Ricard
22 Apr                  Autodromo Nazionale Monza
20 May                 Silverstone
27 May                 Monaco
22 Jul                   Red Bull Ring
28 Jul                   Spa-Francorchamps
2 Sep                   Hungaroring
15 Sep                 Nürburgring
21 Oct                  Circuit de Catalunya

For further information, please visit Copyright-free pictures attached courtesy of Dutch Photo Agency (please accredit if used).

Note to Editors:

Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM) are 10 times British Champions and winners of over 180 races in British Superbike Championship, MotoGP CRT, World Superbike Championship, 125cc, 250cc, Supersport British Championships, Superstock National Championships, Isle of Man TT, North West 200, Daytona, Macau GP, and British domestic races. Points scorers in 125cc, 250cc and 500cc GPs. Points scorers in World Supersport, podium finishers in WSB, Superpole winners in World Superbike. They are based at Langwathby near Penrith in Cumbria.


Name:              Frank Bird
Born:               20th August 1999 in Carlisle (Great Britain)
Height/Weight:1m 79, 62 kg

2015: Ginetta Junior
2016: British F4 Championship
2017: Formula Renault Eurocup, Formula Renault NEC
2018: 24 Hours of Dubaï – Winner in A2 class


Teams’ Championships
Eurocup Mégane Trophy (2006, 2007 & 2008)
Formula Renault 3.5 Series (2007, 2008, 2010 & 2012)
Formula Renault Eurocup (2010 & 2013)
Formula Renault Alps (2011 & 2012)

Drivers’ Championships
Formula Renault 3.5 Series (Álvaro Parente – 2007)
Eurocup Mégane Trophy (Pedro Petiz – 2007)
Formula Renault Alps (Javier Tarancón – 2011)
Formula Renault Eurocup (Pierre Gasly – 2013)

Runner-up Teams’ Championships
Formula Renault Eurocup (2016)

Runner-up Drivers’ Championships
Eurocup Mégane Trophy (Matthieu Lahaye – 2006, Dimitri Enjalbert – 2007)
Formula Renault 3.5 Series (Julien Jousse – 2008, Daniel Ricciardo – 2010, Jules Bianchi – 2012)
Formule Renault Eurocup (Dorian Boccolacci – 2016)



Comments are closed.